Many of the world’s cities are currently facing a serious housing shortage. What are some of the reasons for this shortage and what solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

The world's population is increasing day by day and because of this shortage of houses has become a serious issue. In this essay, I will discuss all the possible reasons behind this problem and what could be done to overcome this. Firstly, the massive increase in the population around the globe is the main cause behind this shortage. Secondly, in the modern world people are moving towards individual family systems. However, in the past, people most likely lived in joint families. For example, in Pakistan, a few decades ago families used to live in a joint family system but now as soon as an individual got married they started living in a separate home. This results in a rise in the demand for more housing societies. For instance, Berlin, a city in Germany, is facing a huge shortage of flats as a lot of multinational companies are working there that ultimately resulting in mass saturation. The government should play role in reducing this issue. First of all, campaigns should be started by the government through different media platforms to educate people about this massive outbreak. Pupils could also play an individual role by realising their responsibility and thinking about future generations. On the other hand, new housing schemes should be started by the government to provide shelter to a vast majority by utilizing barren lands. To conclude, the rise in population and modern lifestyle are the main reasons behind the increasing demand for homes and it can be overcome by a joint effort of the government and the citizens of a country.