Social media has become a regular part of people’s lives. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Humans are historically hardwired to indulge in entertainment. This tendency persists to this day, and people's obsession with social media is one of them. Whether or not this is a positive development is up for discussion. Some people see social media as nothing but a setback. In other words, it is as though social media platforms are designed to doom humanity. For example, Instagram and Tik Tok, the two dominating social media apps popular with teenagers, hamper people's attention span. They do so by grabbing the user's attention thanks to their incredibly entertaining, albeit disappointingly short 'reels'. Clearly, exposure to such content is likely to compromise people's ability to do tasks that would require undivided attention, such as studying. On an individual level, this may appear to be trivial, but given that more people than ever are engaging in social media, it raises serious concerns. That said, it's not all bad news. Social media is only an updated form of TV, for example. Just as people in the past were alarmingly addicted to watching television, so are they hooked on social media for some time. The sense of novelty is likely to wear off at the end of the day, and social media will — or has perhaps already - become normal. In fact, most people have been quick to use this seemingly disturbing commodity to their advantage. One such example is teens, and possibly some adults, running a YouTube channel, such as video game enthusiasts. Not only are these people able to tap into their craft in a way that entertains them, but they are also fortunate enough to make the kind of money they otherwise couldn't. But money isn't the be-all and end-all — there is more to social media than just that. The social aspect of it, as the name suggests, is what matters. In particular, it is thanks to social media that all those introverted people finally have the chance to socialize without being overwhelmed by in-person conversations. These people could get in touch with their fellow internet users and carry out conversations on any topics they like from the comfort of their beds. Even more importantly, social media can make people's lives easier on all fronts. For those living far away from their families, it can be such a valuable tool — apps like Instagram have video-call features that connect to users in a face-to-face conversation in a matter of seconds. This would mean that social media only streamlines our lives in terms of communication and thus contending it destructive isn't justified. In conclusion, it goes without question that social media dominates everyone's life in this day and age, which begs the question: does it do more harm than good? It makes sense to assume that it is a force for destruction because, after all, it is undermining people's intellect in certain ways. However, I believe that the financial and social benefits that come with it outweigh any potential threats associated with this medium of entertainment.