In spite of advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Although technological developments have been applied to improve agriculture by many states, a considerable amount of people are still coping with drought. The origins of this situation seem to stem from two factors and several remedies also appear to be open to us. Possibly the main cause is these improvements are not enough to prevent soil degradation resulting from agriculture itself. Many farmers around the world, for instance, use state-of-the-art trucks to harvest their crops but they do not put unused parts of crops back into the soil which will protect the bacteria and microorganisms in the soil. This demonstrates that the concept of using brand-new vehicles is somewhat inadequate to protect the soil quality. A further well-known cause is the wide economic disparity between the rich and the poor, by which we mean that technological improvements in growing plants are only used by developed countries. This results in a high number and high-quality foods consumed by only the rich population, so developing countries will struggle with hunger due to the lack of money. Turning to possible solutions, an obvious step would be the cooperation of governments worldwide to make an international policy that aims for the equal distribution of these advances to all countries. There is almost a universal consensus that if the authorities are involved in a situation, the results would be more efficient and successful regardless of the issue. Another remedy might be making an investment in scientific research which have a goal for the improvement of soil quality. For example, a group of scientists in Sweden invented a cocktail that incorporates microorganisms and humus into the soil, which may provide an opportunity to gain back degraded soils. Although this technique needs to be developed, it gives us hope for the future of agriculture and thus hungry people. In conclusion, the limited effectiveness of advances and the inequality in countries’ finance seem to be the main reasons. The authorities’ initiatives and scientific studies may well lessen the severity of the situation.