Some people feel that crime can be reduced by increasing police numbers while others believe that social upliftment, such as better education and housing, will bring crime rates down.

Almost every person feels anxious about criminals and desires to be safe, but how can people drop the crime rate? This issue has become controversial because somebody suggests expanding police stations, while others believe that things such as better education and housing must be improved. In this essay, I will examine both viewpoints; however, I agree that several methods can be applied in order to overpower this societal problem. To begin with, by rising the police force, the government can control more public areas such as squares, parks, malls and etc. Nonetheless, these actions cannot fully prevent felonies which happen in private places like houses. For instance, domestic violence or rape mostly occurs before somebody notices it and calls the police. In the end, a victim has already been injured, and unfortunately, it doesn’t depend on the amount. Furthermore, if a person wants to hire more employees, he is supposed to pay more, so, if we widen the security forces, the government will be forced to increase taxes or miss opportunities to invest in other crucial fields in order to give salaries. On the other hand, not all individuals can do something by the book for the reason that they do not understand black and white. Although following the law seems like an obvious thing for numerous people, some don’t even know about the law and how it works and they have nobody who can explain it. As I see it, by improving the education system and making it accessible for everyone, society can change the current situation. In addition, we can establish some volunteer organizations that will hold training about ethics, so more and more people will be aware of morality. To sum up, I strongly agree with idea that social uplifting can be a reason for lower crime rates. If both government and society start to teach citizens about moral principles, social rules and etc., humanity will be affected by the idea of the right life, which contains good behaviour. Moreover, it can be beneficial since it also will produce more professionals, who help to enhance our world.