Some people say that olympic games do not have any role to play in society. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

It is undoubtedly true that all kind of sports and games have become popular all over the world. Majority of individuals claim that olympic games does not have any significance in the society. Howbeit I disagree with this statement due to certain reasons. There are main two advantages of playing the games at international level and the prominent one is to create harmonious atmosphere among different nations. This is because when players from the other countries participate in such activities, they learn to respect and value the cultures. To illustrate, during the first olympics players did shake hand before their performance, and promise that they will play fairly without harming anyone in the ground. Apart from this, these sports are excellent source of revenue for any nation. People are coming to watch these sports from various parts of the world, hence they pay for the accommodation, food, tickets and excetra. Another key consideration is that it encourages youngsters. Many players have become the role model for the young children, hence they follow their lifestyle, their skills. The eminent example of this approach is Milkha Singh was the gold medalist in running, and was the first Indian runner and people are allured by his performance in first olympics. In addition to this, sports are not only meant for the physical fitness, also provides employment opportunities in future when they play for the nation. Alongside all the international players gain fame, money and praise from their country. In conclusion, I regard that players are centre of any nation that represents their country worldwide. Thus, they play significant role in the social development.