Some people think history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps us understand the present. Discuss both the viewpoints and give your opinion.

The revolution of technology in recent times drove people to consider some subjects to be irrelevant to the current needs of the world. One of the subject which is under heavy criticism is history. While some preceive receive that study of history keeps people connected to their culture while some believe that it is not the most intriguing and reliable subject. Most of the research programs are based on the data recorded in the past which is further enhanced by applying technology which leads to incredible discoveries. For example, the masterpiece 'Book of medicine' written by a 16th century scientist Avicenna created an impetus for the knowledge of the biological science to be further developed. Furthermore, people also believe that study of history brings masses closer to realise their roots and emboldens their cultural heritage. Ever since the famous TV show 'Vikings' was broadcasted on the television, the Nordic communities have started to adhere to their roots. Although there are upsides of studying history but some believe there are far more downsides. Some believe that the study of history is extremely boring and hard to focus. Many school students may end up losing their interest in education which eventually creates a negative impact on the society. In addition to that, people often use this phrase ' History will glorify hunters until the lion learns to write' to voice their concerns that the study of history which is available to us is corrupted an morphed by those in power in the past which makes it an unreliable subject. In conclusion, both sides have genuine reasoning behind their opinions on whether history should be taught or not. Some find that history is so boring that it may discourage school children from education while others state that it helps in advancement of human civilisation. However, I strongly believe that history is an important subject which can help us in carrying forward the human heritage and knowledge.