In some countries, boys and girls are educated in different schools rather than in the same school. What are the advantages and disadvantage of this?

We all are well informed about the fact that there is diversity in languages, races, cultures around the globe. However, most are unaware of the fact that there is diversity in the structure of educational institiues institute and their regulations around the world. It is observed in some countries that boys and girls are educated in different schools or colleges while educational institues of some other states opt for both the genders to study together. There are hundreds of different cultures around the world and each one of it is unique in it's own way. In some cultures, it is believed that intermixing of genders may drastically compromise modesty within the society. For example, it was found in a survey conducted in Leicester found that 76% of the teenagers had sexual relationships with their colleagues at schools. Furthermore, it is seen that the students tend to focus more on their academics while there is a segregation. It was observed in a study conducted in Minnesota by Pew research center that the Universities which boast same sex students had 12.6% higher aggregate than those institutes which allow both genders. Although there are advantages of having both genders secluded from each other at schools, there are downsides to it as well. This separation of males and females potentially leads to slow down of cognitive development in students. Children with minimal exposure to the opposite gender may not comprehend or become considerate of the opposite gender's characteristics. Also, it is widely seen that children who are not studying together with the opposite gender struggle to communicate with each other due to lack of exposure to the opposite gender. For instance, Al Jazeera interviewed dozens of students in Saudi Arabia who study at a boys college. Reportedly, 71% of them confessed that they struggle while interacting with women. To conclude, boys and girls having education in different schools have both positives as well as negatives. When it comes to pros, cultures are kept alive and students deliver better results while the cons are two-folds; hesitant behaviourial patterns and halt in cognitive development.