Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand Humans life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The importance of studying the past and learning from it was always been considered one of the most heated topics. Indeed, there are different points of view: someone thinks that the past cannot teach anything, while others argue that it is a teacher of life from which everybody can learn, in order to avoid the same mistakes and create more rightful societies. I personally believe that studying the past is the best way to improve human growth and understand the world where we live. Consequently, this essay will focus on both opinions and will explain my point of view. It is well known that life and societies are used to change during the past putting us to the test with very different situations. Clearly, today’s problems, as well as life goals, as well as life goals are not the same as in the past and this led me to think that the past cannot give us a lecture on our lives. In contrast, in my view, our lives and societies are only the development of historical events and only learning history can give us the key to understanding modern times. For instance, many technologies of our times derived from past discoveries, thus, knowing history can let us understand why and how we use such tools. In addition, studying our and others’ past allows us to avoid such horrible mistakes and improve our society. I believe that, if we do not know the world’s past, we will always turn around the same mistakes without learning how to avoid them. For example, if we did not study political and economic history we could not realise society’s achievements and we would not give the right importance to our freedom and democracy as well as we would not understand the reasons for the economic crisis. This means that we could not avoid an economic crisis in the future as well as we could lose our democracy without realising it. To conclude, there are many people who think we do not need to learn past, but I firmly believe that without knowing our past we cannot have a better future.