Some people think it’s better to choose friend s who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People always hold different opinions about how to choose friends. While some people prefer making friends with others who have similar interests, characteristics and opinions to them, I prefer knowing somebody who is different from me. On one hand, without any doubt that people are able to get along well with the one who is similar to them easily. For example, people who have the same hobby are easier to start and maintain a conversation when they meet at a party, and hence, they could easily build a relationship with each other in the future as they may enjoy participating in specific activities together. In addition, friends that have similar personalities to us are usually able to show more understanding of our feeling and show empathy when we are having a hard time or facing difficulties. They know how to ventilate the emotions of others well. On the other hand, I think making friends with someone who is different from us has a multitude of benefits. Among all of the benefits, the first one that pops into my mind is that it allows us to learn how to communicate with people who have different cultural backgrounds and personalities, hence, improving our communication skills. In the workplace, people do not have a choice on whom they are working with, for most of the time, we have to work with someone who comes from a different social background and has an opposed working style. Making friends with different backgrounds and personalities provide a great opportunity for us to practice how to cope with others and respect people who have different opinions from us. Having good communication skills may increase our competitiveness in the workplace. Another benefit of making friends who have different thinking methods from us is that they can clear our minds and give us some useful advice when we face difficulties or need to make an important decision. As they always see things from another perspective instead of our own perspective, they can give us a full picture of the issue and provide some comprehensive opinions for us,and hence, it allows us to open our minds and able to make a wiser decisions in order to solve a problem. Under this line of thinking, although it is easier for us to get along with someone who is similar to us, I prefer making friends with somebody who has different characteristics and hobbies as it may favour my personal growth.