Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty.

Capital punishment is a legally authorized killing of a convicted criminal, and due to its nature, it continues to be a subject of debate. For some, the death penalty is a sensible way to punish violent criminals, while others claim that the death penalty should not be utilized in the contemporary world. There are numerous reasons why such disagreements exist, and the most critical factors in the given discussion are related to retribution, the cost-effectiveness of this punishment ’s implementation, moral values and the risks of wrongful executions. Death penalty often serves as a legal vengeance, which provides a sense of finality to grieving families. By executing the convict, the victim’s family members and friends can feel that justice has been served properly, as any other punishment may seem insufficient from their perspective. While this element of revenge can seem solely based on emotion, it can be considered an advantage because of how it complies with the demands of the victim’s relatives. Another benefit to using the death penalty is saving a significant amount of money. This is possible by reducing funding on sources such as food and electricity that are needed to maintain prisons where many felons reside for a long-term period. In other words, when criminals are executed, their basic needs are eliminated as well, meaning less taxpayer money is needed for prison maintenance. This also allows the government to allocate more of the country’s budget to other sectors, such as education and healthcare. Despite the apparent upsides of the death penalty, there are millions of people who support the abolition of capital punishment. The most common reasons for such a degree of disapproval are usually moral objections, with people often referring to legal executions as ethically wrong. Taking a life, regardless of any circumstances, appears to be uncivilized for a progressive part of society, which is probably why more than a hundred countries already abolished the death penalty, leaving life imprisonment as the most severe punishment a convict can get. The last major talking point is the likelihood of wrongful penalties, which many cite as the most significant drawback to using the death penalty. As history shows, there are certain cases where innocent individuals are mistakenly punished for what they have never done, and in the imaginations of some people, similar faults can lead to mistakes in using the death penalty, too. In summary, capital punishment presents convincing advantages and disadvantages, which will likely cause more controversy in the short and long-term future.