The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten vears. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Over the past 10 years, western societies have seen an increase of approximately 20% in the number of children who are overweight. The purpose of this essay is to list some of the main causes and effects of this worrying situation. In the last few years, children have adopted bad eating habits. For example, it is common to go out and eat junk food at places like McDonald's, KFC, Taco Bell, etc. These types of fast-food chains offer unhealthy meals and provide few nutrients. In addition, children in western societies have adopted unhealthy eating habits at home like consuming are a lot of sugars and fatty foods. One clear example of this is the habit of eating ice cream at night as a dessert. As a result of these bad habits, kids are gaining more weight than they should. These unhealthy habits have affected the physical and mental health of children. For example, over the last 10 years, more children have suffered from previously uncommon health problems like diabetes, bone issues, hypertension, and strokes. What's more, children became more prone to bullying at school, which has resulted in several mental issues like depression, anxiety, or eating disorders because other kids are making fun of the overweight children's bodies and making them feel uncomfortable with themselves. To sum up, in western society, the number of children who are overweight has increased by approximately 20 percent because of the adoption of unhealthy habits that have caused them to gain a lot of weight and consequently led to physical and mental issues.