Although the prices of fuels have greatly increased over the last decade or two, it is argued that further increases in fuel prices are the only way to reduce world consumption of fuel and lessen pressure on the world’s fuel resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words

The constant increase in fuel prices has become the most controversial topic in recent years. Some people believe that rising costs will benefit global gas resources by reducing consumption. However, in my opinion, there are too many disadvantages compromising this thesis, such as limited alternatives for public transportation and the domino effect that follows. To start with, I would like to emphasize the importance of public transportation as a replacement for private vehicles, which usage is expected to be decreased. In order to make progress towards this movement, alternative public transit should be provided. However, till now, many towns and villages still have been suffering from insufficient development of public transportation, such as buses connecting people to work; or train lines taking residents back home from the city. Similarly, the cost of the already existing public transport has been enormous for poor users, who decide to find the cheapest solution, like for example, a carpool, where people share the rides. Furthermore, the top of the iceberg is the domino effect, which can be visible on a global scale. With the gas prices increase, a chain of reaction occurs, such as a dramatic rise in food costs and other products, for example, cars, building materials, housing expenses that follow, and so on. This can only lead to global economic crises. In conclusion, even though rising fuel prices could have a small impact on global consumption of fossil fuels, in the long scale, it will bring a failure of the economic system due to the lack of alternative public transit, as well as the domino effect of rising figures in all other sectors, leading to the global crisis.