Nowadays it is not only large companies that are able to make films. Digital technology enables anyone to produce films. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, technologies open new horizons, giving people an opportunity to get involved in different processes. Film production is one of the spheres, where not only large companies can participate, but almost anyone. I strongly believe that it is beneficial both for this specific industry and society in general. In recent years digital technologies, such as social networks, applications and software for editing and creating videos, have made an enormous step forward. Everyone can create their own masterpiece within several days and publish it on a platform for others to judge. It definitely makes the film industry more diverse and focused not only on box-office results but also on more intellectual content. For example, if technologies weren’t on such a high level, there wouldn’t be independent studios, which deal in their movies with not profitable, but crucial topics like poverty, wars, mental illnesses etc. Furthermore, independent film production influences society in a positive way. A huge number of talented people may not have an opportunity to obtain a degree in this sphere and, therefore, don’t have a chance to work for famous corporations. For instance, those who were born in the countryside often can’t afford to move to a metropolis to study or work in the film industry, as a result, they may miss a chance to create an outstanding film, even if they are truly talented. In this case, digital technologies help self-actualization. In conclusion, it is evident that the development of technologies brings many possibilities and helps to diversify the range of topics and points of view in film -making.