Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Government plays a significant role in developing the transportation system. There has been an ongoing debate about how government should allocate their resource between different modes of transportation. Some people believe that railways should be given priority over roads. I completely agree with this view, as it has lower environmental effects, and improved safety. To begin with, trains have lower negative effects on the environment, because the engines designed in railways vehicles, which are powered by electricity or diesel, produce less gas emission and consume less energy per unit of freight and passengers than engines used in cars and trucks. This can be more efficient and emit less pollution. In addition, by investing in railways, traffic congestion can be reduced in urban areas, which effects positively public health, and can be a good way to tackle climate change. Because, trains can move numerous people and goods in a single journey. As a result, there may be fewer numbers of cars and trucks on the road. Moreover, if authorities invest their resource in railways, safety can be improved and the number of accidents on transportation networks can be reduced, as railways are designed to be separated from other types of mode of transportation, which reduce the risk of collision. Additionally, there are many strict safety obligations and procedures in railways networks, which can ensure accidents are minimized. For example, railway operators may be required by law to perform regular safety inspections on their trains and trucks. Some people may argue that roads are more flexible than railroads because they can be rerouted and expended easily to respond to changes in population growth. For instance, if a city experiences sharp population growth, the government can invest in expanding existing roads and creating new ones at a lower cost. Nonetheless, nowadays, trains have been designed with the latest technology, which can make the rerouteing process more convenient than in the past. Furthermore, expanding roads or creating new ones means increasing the number of cars and trucks on the road, which can increase air pollution, and wear and tear on roads and bridges, as a result, increasing the maintenance cost. In conclusion, it goes without saying that government should invest in railways than roads, as it has some positive outcomes for the environment by using efficient engines designed for trains and also decreasing traffic congestion. Similarly, railways are safer than roads, because it has fewer vehicle accidents, which can ensure by some regulations and procedures