Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages? #186

There is no denying the fact that social media has become easy to use for people of all ages. Although a large amount of information is shared and analysed online, the risks associated with these platforms remain one of their major disadvantages. However, I believe that the benefits are more significant, which this essay will discuss. To begin with, communication has become extremely important for young people, and social media applications are now the primary way to stay in contact with others, especially for those who live far from their families and relatives. In addition, communicating through Facebook or other online platforms provides the opportunity to stay connected even when living abroad. For example, a simple video call on Snapchat can bring families together despite long distances. Another point to consider is that most companies guarantee that users’ information is protected and secure from cyberattacks. Moreover, following safety guidelines can be beneficial when using these applications. For instance, social networks always warn and advise their users not to share personal information or respond to fraudulent calls, even if they appear convincing. To conclude, socialising in this generation is mainly online rather than in person, which means risks are more likely to appear. However, the advantages of fast communication and easier connection are significantly more beneficial.