In some societies the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extend do you agree?

Throughout the years, the uncommon activity of crime has been committed more frequently by a specific age group of humans. Furthermore, generally, adults have been viewed to carry out such acts, however, in recent years there has been an exponential increase in the number of teenagers performing it. Some examples of this appear to be the 2020 covid 19, Irish, and Swansea riots carried out by them. Regarding this situation, there has been a major dispute about the punishment that the youthful undertakers of this should receive, with most thinking that similar to grown-ups, teens should get the same discipline. Firstly, if we keep in mind that juveniles do not fully understand what they are implementing, then it might not be ethical for governments to penalize them so harshly. Moreover, there appears to be an enlargement of minor crimes executed by the younger generation and the penalty for this is enough. The atonement for some of the more serious offences is no doubt harsher on the senior citizens and the main reason behind that appears to be that they are able to handle this and it teaches them to never do it again, however, there would be a high chance that it causes trauma in the youth and would harm them rather than benefit. It might seem that I have raised objections to the arguments that they put on the table, however, I agree to some extent that the correction of the unlawful activities done by younger people should be changed to something like a certain amount of community work needed to be done or pay a specific amount of money, but shouldn’t be as cruel as serving some time in prison. To conclude, I agree that young individuals wouldn’t be taught anything by receiving adult penalties but rather would have a career-ending effect on them. For this reason, they should have a separate category of retribution that is specifically less of a forfeit but more of a lesson.