Many jobs require ongoing training and research to stay competitive in a world with rapidly evolving information and technology. Some believe that it is the responsibility of businesses to pay for this training for their staff while others feel it is up to the individual. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some argue that employees should pay for their professional pieces of training by themselves, others believe that employers must provide their staff with relatively up-to-date learning support. Although, self-education gives workers more freedom and flexibility in their future careers, I agree with the first opinion as on-work training courses provide workers with area-specific knowledge, as well as can be considered as an additional item in a benefits package, especially for entry-level positions. On the one hand, professional courses paid by workers give them the opportunity to view other available qualifications and a chance to change their career halfway of study. For instance, someone who started to study a Human Resources Management course may realize that they are more interested in the payroll module and apply for Payroll Adviser certification which leads them directly to their desired role. If a company pays for their study, employees are obliged to finish the course, and also a bond might be applied to their contract. On the other hand, businesses providing education and pieces of training on sites, place them in the labour market in a better position because firstly, their training is industry-specific, and secondly, highly appreciated by new starters and graduates as an additional benefit. For example, there are some software used exclusively in the hospitality industry such as Opera, Ichris, and Microster. World-famous hotels are teaching their staff how to use these systems from scratch, and also on a regular basis to make sure that their skills and knowledge are up to date. In conclusion, while self-paid education provides better flexibility in moving to further career opportunities, I believe that training on-site results in more updated knowledge and skills, as well as plays a beneficial role for staff, especially post-graduates.