Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some argue that secondary schools should implement volunteering programs as a mandatory course for their pupils. This essay strongly agrees with this statement because it can develop their social empathy and be grateful for what they own. Firstly, volunteering programs allow students to develop their social skills and care for others. This is because through these programs students are given the opportunity to communicate with their peers and local people and be more empathetic with other's struggles. For example, some high schools in Yogyakarta hold community service activities at the end of every second semester and every student is required to participate in these programs. These events feature pupils doing a charity for residents of rural areas and conducting community empowerment through entrepreneur socialization. Secondly, these life experiences enable students to be more grateful. By interacting with rural residents, they will discover how the locals encounter many limitations in their lives. Therefore, children can learn and reflect on what they already have and how to maximize the facilities and resources that have been provided by their parents. For instance, in Gunung Kidul, where juveniles should travel far to reach their schools, some of them are going to school on foot. Even though they must face hurdles, they still have strong motivations to diligently attend their classes. From this fact, students can self-reflect and be more responsible in their studies. In conclusion, making community service actions compulsory for high school students should be seen as a good measure because it helps instil children with good social values and reflect on their privileged lives.