In many countries, women are allowed to take maternity leave during the first month after the birth of the newborn. Do you think the advantages of maternity leave outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there are laws which allow women to take leave for a certain time period after pregnancy in most countries. While I agree that there might be some negative consequences of such laws, I consider their benefits to be far more than their drawbacks. Admittedly, there are a few disadvantages of maternity leave. To begin with, long maternity leave may be an obstacle to career progression. For example, because of the break, women's promotion might get delayed. From the company's perspective, they may have to find a temporary replacement for work, which may not be that easy. Hence, they do not prefer to hire women in the first place. However, maternity leave is very advantageous for the new-barns. The future of the world rests largely in the hands of the coming generations. Once a child is born, it becomes national property. Mothers are the front-line childcare providers and therefore, if they are given maternity leave, they can do their job better. If the mother does not get paid maternity leave, then she has to go back to her job earlier and this affects childcare. Nurseries fail to provide the one-to-one interaction children need. Secondly, maternity leave is beneficial for the mother herself. It is undeniable that a woman has to go through a very stressful time physically, emotionally, and financially, during pregnancy Therefore, if women are allowed maternity leave, they can look after their health. Another important advantage of maternity leave is that the job is secure. The fear of losing their job altogether makes many women apprehensive and so they get back to work at the cost of their health and their child's health. To sum up, the disadvantages of maternity leave are negligible compared to the advantages. That is why some countries have taken a step forward and allowed maternity leave to women after childbirth.