In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they are able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a view that physical books and newspapers will be completely replaced by digital ones in the future as the latter enables people to read digital material free of charge. I would argue that while there has been an increase/rise in the number of e-readers purchased, some people still favor printed books and newspapers over digital ones. I will give my reasons below. To begin with, as technology develops, there has been an increasing number of people reading a range of books and newspapers digitally without charge. This trend will likely be more common because in some technologically advanced countries, the majority of people have access toread free newspapers on the internet. As a result, the popularity of physical newspapers has dramatically dropped, which means newspaper companies will no longer print newspapers in the future. Instead, they will most likely=probably focus on their online presence. However, there will still be some people who are willing to pay for physical books and newspapers. This may be because they do not want to give up a sensory experience like holding a book in their hands or flipping through the pages, which digital=electronic books cannot provide. To take myself as an example, I prefer to browse books in brick-and-mortar bookstores rather than scrolling through them on my electronic devices like my smartphone as I love the feel and smell of paper books. In addition, I have been subscribing to the newspaper called Seoul Today for over 5 years although I can read articles on the website for free. The feeling of a newspaper is a huge pro, whereas reading articles on the screen seems to cause eye strain. In conclusion, although physical newspapers and books will not be purchased as readers will access them for free, I believe that there will still be some people who enjoy some of the benefits traditional books and newspapers offer.