Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent times, it has been far more normal for people to socialise on the internet than ever before. In my view, this situation could produce both positive and negative outcomes in equal measure. Seen in a positive light, internet communication facilitates long-distance relationships. When people work or study in a foreign country, for instance, social media platforms such as Facebook, Snapchat and Telegram allow them to stay in contact with their family members and friends, regardless of geographical boundaries. As a result, it becomes easier to maintain a good social life. Another glaring advantage of digital socialisation in contrast to in-human conversations is that it promotes transparency. Interacting on the internet, people, in particular introverts, do not feel as ashamed and uncomfortable as they do in face-to-face talks. This, in turn, often leads to open and honest communication, which plays a key role in building trust and mutual understanding. Were it not for this form of interaction, foreign students and workers, along with introverted individuals, would experience feelings of loneliness and isolation. In terms of the downsides, the preference for online communication sacrifices essential elements of human interaction in the name of a more efficient and utilitarian process. People who rely on the internet to socialise miss out on eye contact and body language, thereby struggling to express their thoughts and feelings clearly. Consequently, they may fail to form strong interpersonal bonds, which is currently the case with younger generations. Apart from sacrificing social aspects of communication, internet users also tend to compromise their safety. If people do not come into contact with their acquaintances in different social settings, it is highly improbable to find out what their real intentions are. This hinders people, especially children, from creating a safe environment. The more cautious attitude we express for this type of communication, the more serious consequences can be escaped. Although there are some decided benefits that internet -based socialisation brings-including improved remote relationships and transparent conversations-the problems it poses to the crucial aspects of social interaction and our safety are impossible to ignore.