As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays we witness powerlessly the increasing number of car and the consequential need to maintain the road systems. While some people argue that the government should be responsible for this commitment, others believe that drivers should pay for this. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favor of the latter. On the one hand, the state plays an important role in managing the goods belonging to the community handling the resources coming from citizens. What’s more, when it comes that something happens, not related to the merely willingness of people but results from a combination of events, political or manufacturing for instance, the government should assume the responsibility to help less privileged families. For instance, changes in the car industry (type, number, etc..) represent significant situations in which the government should act directly putting money into the road systems. On the other hand, some people argue that who use the car is strictly connected to the covering of the costs concerning the road systems. This philosophy comes from the deep conviction that the state should not interfere with everything happens to the community. The state plays a crucial role in dealing with the main services to be provided to citizens and the car industry and whatever relates to it own to the drivers. For example, the increasing demand for cars results from drivers. That means, they are responsible for paying costs to keep the road systems well performing and safe. In my opinion, the state should be co-responsible for maintenance of the road systems since speaking of the government means basically discussing about citizens contributions to the state budget. In conclusion, in the debate between those who think the government should spend money to handle the effects of the increasing of numer of cars and the others that believe drivers should take the task to cover the costs, I am inclined to consider the state as co-responsible for the good maintenance of the road systems.