Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foregin country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, an increasing number of people have started to discuss the importance of language learning. While some people harbour a belief that the only purpose of learning a foreign language is to travel or find a job in a different country easily, I believe that there are many benefits to acquiring a new language. I will discuss both sides in the following essay. There is no doubt that people learning a foreign language could travel abroad more conveniently.when foreigners could communicate with local residents without language barriers, they could immerse themselves in the different cultures easily and have a better experience during their journey. For example, there has been an increasing population who have started to learn Japanese in Taiwan in the past few years in order to interact with natives conveniently rather than using body expressions. Therefore, this reason for learning a new language becomes a crucial skill. However, although it might be true, increasing globalization makes the purpose of language -learning more diverse. Many teenagers are interested in another language because they want to widen their knowledge about a new country such as its culture. For instance, the girls learn Korean not only because of the language's uniqueness itself but also because they wish to obtain more about what their idols mean and understand them. In addition, when it comes to the growth of tourism in our country, we can always show them our friendliness with the help of different languages such as English. As a result, our country could be well-known and more foreign visitors will more willing to visit, which contributes to the economy of our nation. In conclusion, it is commonly believed that people learn a new language for a convenient reason, but in my opinion, it is also mandatory for us to be aware that there are more practical and fundamental reasons to acquire a language except for the mother language.