crime and punishment, how to stop criminals re-offending. Give your views and opinion.

Historically, most people who were incarcerated committed crimes again after being released from prison. In my opinion, this is related to economics and psychology and the chief solutions are governmental. The causes of high recidivism rates are identical to the original explanations for the crimes in question. The vast majority of criminal activity can be traced back to poverty. Individuals who are wealthy enough to afford a good standard of living rarely have a motive for the crime. However, those who lack the financial means to live a decent life are more likely to commit crimes and this is exacerbated for past criminals who struggle to apply successfully for work with a past offence on their permanent record. For example, there are psychological reasons that may also persist. Many criminals had difficult upbringings and do not have access to trained therapists who can help them work through their issues. These causes combined are the reason that prison often fails to rehabilitate inmates. The ideal solutions should be enacted by the authorities. Firstly, governments must make consistent efforts to ensure that released convicts can support themselves financially. This might involve small stipends to help prisoners adjust but the focus should be on education. An individual who has earned a high school or university degree or learned a skilled trade has little reason to commit a crime after being set free. Secondly, governments could overhaul rehabilitation methodologies. Though society is becoming increasingly secular, there is research that suggests recidivism rates are considerably lower if a prisoner has faith in a religion. Concern for one’s immortal soul is a powerful incentive for ethical behaviour. In conclusion, many criminals re-offend due to economic and psychological reasons and governments must take decisive action to counter this pattern. Looking at successful models in other countries is also advisable.