Some people think that using mobile phones and computers has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that youngsters’ literacy is deteriorated because of the emergence of communication devices such as smartphones and computers. I totally agree with this claim because these gadgets might deprive time to concentrate on learning including writing and reading and make them develop inferior habits of using informal vocabulary and grammar. The main reason I believe that these devices are harmful is that many adolescents have a risk to become an addiction to internet surfing, which means they will lose time learing cognitive skills such as writing and reading. Even though these devices provide some writing and reading materials like electronic novels and blogs, most young individuals tend to spend their time on vain activities, like watching videos, checking social media and chatting with friends. For instance, in Japan, as a national statistical survey among high school students, studying time has been shorter than that of a decade ago when there was no emergence of such a device. The second reason is that there is a risk of acquiring wrong writing and reading skills. In social media, there are numerous informal words with wrong grammar, such as sentences without subjects. As a result, many younger people consume their almost time using these words, and they cannot write formal sentences, like essays. For example, in the US, as a recent research, 30% of secondary school students cannot utilize “a” because they do not use it through social media. In conclusion, I reiterate my strong viewpoint that using laptops and smartphone aggregate the learner’s literacy because it steals time to study and promotes students to acquire inappropriate writing and reading skills in terms of words and grammar.