Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Over the past few decades, there has been a dramatic increase in waste from households. Some people harbour a belief that the only method to improve cycling, which is law enforcement. From my perspective, I believe that authority can use the legislation to enhance community awareness to do waste recycling,but it can be more effective if the government sets encouraging rules. I will discuss the opinion in the following essay. One of the reasons why governments should implement the regulation to tackle the trash matter is that the law has better restrictions for human beings. For instance, the Taipei city government implemented a policy in 2001 that every package of rubbish should use a particular trash bag which was launched by the government. By doing so people have to pay additional fees to buy trash bags in order to avoid paying any fines,which leads to an increase in their daily expenses. Therefore,citizens will reduce the amount of waste and do more recycling in order to save the trash bag. Finally, this legislation made the rate of recycling in Taipei higher than in other cities in Taiwan. However, governments can consider encouraging programs in addition to binding the laws to promote the recycling system. For example, governments can educate and aware people through advertisements. They can produce short movies to show the importance of recycling and persuade people to follow their encouraging rules. Moreover, if there are discounts for purchasing or taxes, people are more willing to recycle their waste. When individuals pay more willing to cooperate with the governments to boost the recycling system together, society will become better as well. In conclusion, provided the government's legal requirement and the encouraging programs of recycling, I believe it could let the community fulfil the responsibility of recycling and efficiently alleviate the quantities of garbage.