In some countries many young people choose to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

There are a large number of nations in which senior school graduates elect to participate in a gap year prior to commencing to study at the tertiary level. This essay will discuss both benefits and drawbacks of having a gap year. There are several reasons why learners opt for such a period. One main reason is that youngsters can find what they are indeed interested in through this experience. In more detail, stimulations from other people whom young people meet through a gap year period would have positive influences on young individuals’ minds. For instance, Yamanaka Shinya, who is one of the eminent psychologists in Japan, said through meetings with one meagre person during the period of a gap year, he decided to be a psychologist to help them. In addition, a year of gap experience helps students to widen their views of the world. As many of them have only an experience related to studying, it is significant for us to acquire experiences in other domains, such as sociality. However, there are some drawbacks to taking a gap year. One of the negative aspects is that some students might demotivate to learn at university. Through job experiences, some of them might misunderstand that they do not need to take a higher education because they already work as a profession whilst there are many precious opportunities for acquiring a wide variety of experiences, such as deepening one studies in college. In fact, 10% of European students who took a gap year have decided to resign to enrol on the university. Moreover, some students might have a risk to continue on to journey because they think that studying is a just burden. Even with their parents’ convictions, they tend to have decided wrong decisions. In conclusion, the merits of taking a year gap are broadening students ’ perspective of society and helping them to find what they desire whereas the drawbacks are degenerating their motivation to learn in college. On balance, I believe that taking a gap year benefits them because it contributes to finding young people’s desires, which makes individuals’ lives more precious.