Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development

In the context of technology evolution, the interaction among people has been different compared with the previous days. While this development affects people's relationships in many ways, I do believe that it generally has a positive impact. Most noticeably, talking about how technology changes the connection among people, the impact on long-distance relationships should be mentioned. In the past, the only way to keep updated about relatives and friends was to meet each other in person. However, with the invention of smartphones and social networks, people can have conversations with anyone by video calling or texting. Additionally, technology makes communication much easier, especially in business. For example, it used to be inconvenient and expensive for international companies to have discussions with their partners since they had to send hand-writing letters or travel across countries. These barriers are resolved with the development of communication platforms such as Gmail, Outlook, and Zoom, on which people can conduct virtual meetings to negotiate without the expensive cost. Although technology afflicts people's connection to some extent, for instance, people tend to depend on their smartphones more than before, I hold the opinion that this development makes a profound impact on society. Looking back to the COVID-19 period, many schools and companies stopped their operations, students could not go to school, and many events and conferences were cancelled. Nevertheless, with the support of online communication platforms, teachers could deliver sessions for hundreds of students, lots of webinars were conducted, and people could virtually meet each other although they could not go out. Moreover, technology shortens the distance between people and the world. This is because it is more convenient to make friends with people from other countries and to interact with international colleagues or partners. In a nutshell, technology has changed the interaction among people. As with the debate about its influence, it is how people use it that’s important. Hence, if people know how to utilize its opportunities and mitigate the bad effects, it will definitely be excellent evolution of human beings.