people are surrounded by advertising, which has an increasing effect on our lives. do you think the positive effects of this outweigh the negative effects?

It is undeniable that advertising has revolutionised the way customers purchase goods or services for ages. Although some propound that this is the positive outcome on our lives, others argue that it is the negative one. This essay will discuss both viewpoints before elaborating on my opinion. On the one hand, there are certain benefits of advertisement in todays' society. First and foremost, it assists a wide range of businesses to thrive in their successful marketing strategies. The more people see their ads on mass media, the more profit companies can make. Secondly, potential consumers will not miss out the lastest products, and they can compare prices and features of certain goods avaiable before buying; therefore, it is greatly beneficial to a majority of buyers. For example, when it comes to purchasing a new mobile phone, I just simply watch its ad and make up my mind. On the other hand, advertising can be detrimental to members of the public for some reasons. Firstly, audiences are being bombarded with tons of adverts, such as on television, websites, printed media, and many more, which it is considered irritating. Scientifically speaking, it is possible to cause an adverse effect on humans. For instance, most adults who spend more time on the tube, watching their favorite shows, and they unavoidably watch such advertisements, hence, they would become more aggressive and easier distracted. Moreover, most advert billboards always block scenic views in the country side, which is belived as annoyance by many. To conclude, even though some ponder that life with ads is more advantageous, others disagree that because they are the notorious causes of distraction. I am of opinion that the drawbacks of this phenomenon outweigh its benefits.