The working week should be shorter and workers should have longer weekends. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a saying that there should be a cut in employees' working days and an extension of their weekends. I personally disagree with this because I believe that the current working days and weekends that workers have are already quite balanced. Furthermore, the reason why the current working hours have mutual benefits for both the companies and workers. I will discuss more on those topics in this essay. Having a work-life balance is very crucial. Because working and still being able to spend personal quality time is needed for the physical and mental health of human beings. For instance, the majority of working days in many countries are five working days with two holidays. This allows citizens to focus on their job on weekdays, and still be able to spend their leisure time on weekends by pursuing their hobbies, or simply recharge. This allows humans to have breaks before continuing their daily activities of working for the next five days. By looking at the company’s aspect, it is clear that companies need staff to work daily on weekdays. This is mainly because working daily is important for the company to maintain its targets, such as its daily production or sales. If this is not achieved, there could be a significant drop in income for the companies, which may lead to lower paychecks for the employees. In conclusion, shortening working weeks may result in a decrease in the number of figures received by the company and lower payments given to its employees. Therefore, I also strongly disagree with shortening the five-day working week for workers since this may lead to an unbalanced work-life.