Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The income gap between successful athletes and other people in professions such as doctors, engineers, and teachers is known to be huge. This topic often creates a controversy where one side would discuss that it is justified whereas another side will strongly oppose that by saying other professions are more important for society. Here we'll discuss the topic from both perspectives. On the one hand, successful sports professionals need to devote their lives to their careers from their youth in order to achieve success. While it could be argued that almost every profession needs the same, there are a couple of drawbacks to being an athlete. For example, first of all, they have limited time in their career which is mostly up to their forties, then almost in every sports event, they are at risk of being injured and put out of work. Lastly, we should consider that their initial salaries are worse and the number of successful athletes is low when we compare them to other professions. In conclusion, we are mostly talking about bright minorities when we talk about high-payed players which are dedicated their whole life and have a short amount of time in their prime times. From the other point of view, there are other vocations which are in my opinion arguably more important to society. Doctors, or health workers in general, are the musts for a healthy functioning nation, engineers build the things that we use and benefit from every day, and teachers are making sure that every profession in our life is sustainable. Members of these vocations are also dedicated their lives to their careers by studying life-long, mentioned pay gap mostly encourages choosing sports instead. To conclude, I think that the high earnings of athletes are justified to a point since they are taking higher risks by both choosing and pursuing their careers. In the meantime even though they arguably play a more important role in the population, mentioned professionals mostly secured their paycheck until late retirement. Nonetheless, the discussed topic should be addressed to ensure greater equity and fairness in society.