Some people think that hosting international sports events is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

In the context of globalization, many international sporting competitions have taken place in many different countries. While some people believe that it is good for the country to host these events, others hold the opposite opinion. In my belief, the benefits of being the host outweigh the costs. On the one hand, it is an undeniable fact that taking responsibility for worldwide events poses a threat to some extent. To begin with, it requires a huge investment in terms of finance. A long list of expense items should be taken into consideration such as facilities enhancement, headcount cost, operations and management cost. If the hosting nation does not have financial sustainability, it can have a detrimental effect on the national economy. In addition, global occasions like these usually attract thousands, or even millions of attendees from all over the world, which may afflict the country's security. The number of foreigners coming to the country will suddenly increase. As a result, the road will be more crowded and there are more traffic jams that cause much inconvenience and unsafety for both the natives and newcomers. Nevertheless, I consider being the host of international events as an opportunity, not a threat. This is the most suitable occasion to develop tourism in the country. Foreigners arriving in the host nation not only attend the events but also utilize their time here to travel. Therefore, it is a good time to introduce the country and its culture to international friends. This is also a chance to spread and beautify the image of the nation to the world. Moreover, the increase in the number of visitors coincides with the upward trend of consuming sources. For instance, more accommodations are rented, the food and beverage industry sells more products, the retail industry attracts more spending and so on. Consequently, the domestic economy will see rapid growth. In a nutshell, though hosting an international sports event brings some negative impacts, its opportunities are so huge that all competent nations should seize the chance and at the same time, mitigate the risks to make use of these occasions for the development of the country.