It is neither possible nor useful to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a difference of opinions regarding the accessibility of tertiary education to the majority of young people. In my view, dispensing university educational services on such a large scale brings about no practical values to society, and also, it is rather unfeasible to carry out this policy. First, widespread entry into university does not seem really useful to a country since the government need to take the needs of both the youth and the economy into consideration. In many countries, especially Germany, vocational training has gained more popularity among young people because it enhances employment opportunities as well as job security upon completion. Furthermore, if everyone could gain admittance to college, it would lead to imbalances in workforce that would greatly damage economic structure. It is because there is little chance that university graduates would choose blue-collar jobs such as working in factories. Second, I think that it is impossible to provide almost all young people with access to tertiary education. In Vietnam, the demand for entering college never ceases to grow at a rapid rate. This puts the government in a dilemma of whether they should risk allocating their resources and therefore face the possibility of bankruptcy due to exorbitant education costs in many financially dependent universities, like Foreign Trade University or National Economics University. On top of that, it is simply unrealistic for universities to accommodate such a suddenly increased number of students on campus, not to mention the fact that most departments are currently short-staffed. In conclusion, I strongly oppose the idea of supplying entry to a high proportion of young people owing to the presented arguments above.