Some people believe that using taxpayer funds to look for life on other planets is important. Others, however, think that it is a waste of public money because there are much more important issues requiring funding on our own planet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Public money can only be spent once and, therefore, the question which issues the government should allocate budget to is a topic of ongoing discussion. Funding impressive space exploration projects or investing money into pressing matters on planet Earth is a vivid example of one of those topics that has proponents and opponents in fierce debate. Although both parties bring forward various valid arguments, as is the case in many such controversies, I believe that the average taxpayer would prefer to see their hard-earned money utilised to tackle issues on this planet. Countless scientists and researchers are in favour of funding space programmes dedicated to finding life on other planets. In their view, such projects contribute to our understanding of the origin and conditions of life, which can deepen our knowledge of life on our own planet, too. Moreover, they believe that due to the current climate crisis caused by our disrespect for the natural environment, it is essential to find alternatives to planet Earth, as there might come a time in the not-so-distant future when humans need to flee. Therefore, these people argue that it is in humankind’s best interest to run space exploration programmes and it is entirely acceptable to use taxpayers’ money for this. However, there are also people who strongly believe that emphasis should be placed on important issues affecting us directly on our own planet instead of spending money on projects in outer space. These people consider it crucial to solve problems such as the effects of climate change or pollution to safeguard the future of our children and grandchildren on Earth. In fact, they would prefer to see governments allocate budget to powerful projects and drastic measures to reverse the environmental damage done to our planet so far and to turn this planet into a liveable place again. In conclusion, although there is something to be said for spending tax money on space programmes with an eye on the future both here on Earth and on other planets, I would tend to agree with the view that it is wiser to invest money in urgent matters on our own planet. All in all, I would like to think it is not too late yet to radically change our ways and save life on Earth.