Children can learn effectively by watching television. therefore, they should be encouraged to watch television regularly at home and at school. to what extent do you agree or disagree.

Since its invention, television has always been at the centre of many debates. In recent times, it became also popular between children as many parents started to use it as an educational tool. As expected, this new role of television arose discussion among people. In the upcoming paragraphs I will discuss the benefits and the drawbacks that this additional function can bring. At the end, I will add my own point of view. On the one hand, watching educational TV programs can be a valid alternative for kids that, perhaps due to serious health problems, cannot attend the public school and are obligated to stay at home. In these particular cases, the family tends to hire a private teacher, even though it can often be expensive. Therefore, in order to reduce the costs, it could be useful for families to opt for science, math or history programs, maybe recorded by real professors, instead of paying for private lessons. Moreover, it has been proved from various studies that watching cartoons in the original language makes the children learn English faster. In fact, it has been demonstrated how young kids can focus better on the learning of the language if the one who speaks it is their favorite character instead of their teacher. On the other hand, it is undeniable that TV has its own risks. One of them regards the social aspect: many infants that start very early to watch television are more likely to develop asocial features such as shyness, laziness and detachment from reality. Individuals during their childhood need to spend time with their classmates doing creative activities such as drawing, playing with toys, doing sports rather than sitting in front of a screen all the afternoon. Only in this way they can develop the social skills that will determine their character and help them facing life in the future. To conclude, I believe that, even tough in some particular situations it could be a useful tool to teach new things, watching television shouldn't be encouranged by parents in order to prevent kids to become disinteresed in the real world and in establishing relationships.