Do we need classic art in the 21st century as a form of entertainment

From the very beginning, the 21st century has been almost synonymous with technological development and the digital. Though this allows for advantages such as a much more globalised and interconnected society, the question arises: Where does art fit in and do we need it? Firstly, I think that art is very important. Since prehistory, over thousands of years ago, humanity has steadily produced and consumed art. In addition, the appearance and subject matter of artworks have changed its role as a crucial aspect of humanity has remained constant. Another advantage is that, after the pandemic has only emphasized the importance of art creation and consumption in our everyday lives as we seek increasing forms of entertainment and escape. On the other hand, the internet and social media have presented a wealth of possibilities for all fields. Also, art in a digitised world has made visual culture much more accessible far-flung global audiences and has provided a new platform for the promotion of art and artist. One disadvantage of it runs the risk of desensitizing us by overwhelming and oversaturing our corpus of art experiences. To sum up, I think that technology can provide new art opportunities and challenges and it is a balance of this that needs to be addressed for art to fully flourish and make its desired impact.