Art is considered an important part of society as well as an expression of its culture. Do you think it is important for children to be taught art? Do you think children should be encouraged to focus on arts rather than other subjects?

Art is gaining more acknowledgment these days compared to the past. Indeed, art plays important role in society and is expressed in the form of several activities and creations. Some people argue that children should be taught about Art. I completely agree with this. However, Children should not be encouraged to focus only on art rather than other subjects, as children should be given the freedom to choose any subject that is appealing to them. As with any other subject or knowledge, children have to be introduced to many kinds of arts including paintings, traditional dance, traditional handcrafts, batik, and so on. some of these can be taught at school. For example, there is an art subject in almost elementary schools in Indonesia, where students learn to paint, make souvenirs from local wood, or practice Indonesian traditional dances. by learning these art expressions the youth may appreciate their culture more. On the other hand, it is also important for young people to understand other subjects such as science, maths, Language, and physical exercise and not merely focus on art. I personally believe that children should be supported to focus more on a subject that they choose and they are good at. Some of them may choose art as their major; because they have a talent and passion for art. In conclusion, it is important that children be introduced to art, but whether they want to focus more on art is depend on their passion and talent.