Some people believe that using a bicycle as a main form of transportation has a lot of advantages whereas others think it has many disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The general public has a multitude of views about using a bicycle as a main form of transportation. While some people think that it is a good way to reduce the use of fossil fuel and alleviate the problem of air pollution, I believe there are strong evidence and reasons why the bicycle is not suitable to treat as a main transportation in the city. On one hand, one of the significant advantages of using a bike as the main transportation is that it is environmentally friendly. Currently, the air quality has been worsening and it is due to the increased number of private car drivers. As riding a bike does not burn any fossil fuels, it reduces the emission of greenhouse gases. The air quality in turn will be improved. Another advantage of travelling by bike is that it helps promote exercise and health. More and more people,especially the ones who are living in the city, have a sedentary lifestyle and they seldom exercise. They would rather glue their eyes to computer screens or mobile screens than participate in outdoor sports during their free time. Exercise on regular basis is essential to maintain our health and reduce the risk of different diseases such as cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, and high blood pressure. Therefore, if people travel by bike every day, their health will be improved. On the other hand, replacing other public transport with bicycles may lead to several problems. The first problem that pops into my mind is that the number of road accidents may increase. Riding a bicycle on a road is different from riding it in a park as a leisure activity. It requires advanced skills such as multi-tasking skills, quick decision-making skills and high attention to road safety. Just like driving a car, riding a bicycle on road without any training will be detrimental to other drivers and pedestrian. Another problem that I can think of is that current community facilities are not well developed for bike users. After people travel to school and work by bicycle, they may need to find a place to park their bicycles. However, the number of parking areas for bicycles is limited and they are not enough to cater for the needs of a large group of cyclists. When bike users could not find a place to park their bikes, they would simply leave their bikes anywhere on the pedestrian roads and this may affect the tidiness of the city as well as the safety of the pedestrian. In conclusion, although using a bike as a main form of public transportation may bring a lot of advantages, I believe they would be outweighed by the disadvantages.