The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, news in social media become more focused on negative events and issues than on good news. Some people believe that this tendency is harmful to individuals and society, and I strongly agree with them because continuously focusing on bad news leads to high anxiety and distraction from work. The first point to consider is that reading negative news about the world's problems and emergencies on an everyday basis makes individuals anxious, which causes a spike in the cortisol level. Continuous exposure to cortisol is one of the reasons for obesity, heart disease and other health and mental issues, which require medical attention. In my own opinion this is a very negative effect on society's health. Secondly, bad news engages users more than good news, and that causes a lot of distraction from work and other activities. That is how our brain works: when we see danger, we start to look for another one immediately, even if it is just a troubling new's headline on Twitter. These days we even have a new word for it - a doomscroling. And this is a loop because it is so easy to find one another chunk of bad news unless social media has benefits from high user engagement. But the doomscroling steals our limited time and distracts us from work, study and rest. In conclusion, I think that focusing on bad news is a negative tendency because it causes a lot of health problems and steals precious time from people.