In some educational systems, children are required to study one or more foreign languages. In others, foreign language study is not a requirement. What are the potential benefits of foreign language study? Do you think foreign language study is an important part of education?

Younger learners' foreign language education is now a controversial issue which people like debating. I strongly believe that starting a foreign language process at an early age has vast advantages in one's life. I will give my reasons below. To begin with, learning foreign languages gives a range of opportunities in one's future career. Due to globalization, a lot of companies have expanded their businesses globally. Therefore they prefer employees who speak several different languages fluently to start a business in the new market with minimizing risks resulting from the language barrier. For instance, statistics showed that when companies are hiring, they tend to hire a worker who can speak one or more foreign languages among the candidates. Next, studying a foreign language is not only just to communicate with internationals, but also to get a deeper understanding of exotic cultures. In the process of learning a language different from their own, students can attain background information which helps them to understand the unique features of the language. This enables learners to have better communication skills as well as embrace diversity. Thus, children eventually get an ability that helps understand why cultural diversity is pivotal in a diverse international environment. To illustrate this, researchers compared two groups in a Dutch class students who took cultural classes and those who didn't. As a result, children who studied the directness of Dutch culture had less difficulty when communicating with native speakers. To sum up, I would say that studying a foreign language in the education system at an early age has significant upsides to getting a better understanding of people from different cultures. Furthermore, it allows students to broaden their own career paths in the future.