As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Globalization is a phenomenon that has recently changed the societies and the way we live in todays world. It has been going on for centuries but with the improvements of technology and communication, it has grown rapidly in the last couple of decades. In this essay I will examine argument that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural indentity. In the last part I will provide my concluding remarks. To start with, globalization has made a world a smaller place to live where distances between countries and different timezones are shorter than ever before. In addition, people share same values and ideas and it generates similar ideologies across the globe. It has partially contributed to a reduction of cultural identities as those small ideas are becoming a lot harder to protect and cherish. Additionally, we could argue that the world is globalazing to extent that everything is becoming dominated by the mass markets and societies. Some people argue, that social media as a way of communicating has resulted in reduction of real human interraction that enables us to pass knowledge to one another from older generations due to knowledge gap. Secondly, in the below paragraph, I will be reviewing positives of globalization and how it can help us prevent cultural indentities. As previously mentioned, with the world becoming a smaller place due to increasing means and speed of transportation, it has resulted in people being able to explore more than ever before. For example, nowadays it is a lot easier to travel from America to Asia than it was a hundred years ago because you do no longer need to take weeks on a boat, instead you can simply get on a plane and fly across. this really enables us to see and learn more. There has been a recent study published on BBC news, that suggest there is a tribe in New Zealand that would have been completely distinct if not for a post about it on social media that went viral and that has attracted many visitors all across the globe. Moreover, it is argued that even before this rapid growth of industrialization over the last few decades, features of cultures had challenges such as wars, famines and invasions. It has been known to mankind that it is a natural process that enables us to strengthen these values and enable that to grow even more. In conclusion, although globalization has resulted in world becoming a smaller place to live where all the values are set by new and upcoming means of communication of mass media, there has been a significant positives of that as outline above. Those new ways of reaching out to the unknown has resulted in overcoming challenges that were difficult previously and enabled us to develop knowledge vital for protecting those identities of other and our own.