Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people said that government should spend money on railways rather than roads. However, other people have opposite opinion. I suggest that my answer will different depends on how is the people living environment. I will illustrate details in the paragraph below.We all know that building railways or road is a best way to improve traffic problem or develop local economic. However, building a railway needs more conditions than building a road. Firstly, the cost of building railways is much higher than building roads. And you need to decide where is the best place to set up a train station. A suitable location for a train station should be a place where a lot of people live in currently or in a near future. Therefore, if your country dose not have enough population or your population is decreasing, it rather to build a road than a railway. Secondly, it depends on how your country looks like. If the land of your country goes up and down, for example, there are many mountains or valleys in your country, then building a railway will be a very hard task and cost a lot of fortune. On the other hand, it is more economic to build a railway when your land is flat. To sum up, there is no right or wrong of government should build railways or roads. It all depends on the conditions of your country. If you have many population and they live closely and most of your land is flat, then I would say your country may get benefit from building railways.