“Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?”

At present times, technology prevails in our everyday life and it has widespread effects on our life. Technology can be used in different sectors of our lives such as monitoring people's activities. Although there are benefits and drawbacks regarding this issue, the benefits never outweigh the drawbacks. To begin with, there is no doubt that technology has brought some positivity as well as negativity in our lives. Such as with the advancement of technology, we can just keep an eye on people while they are unaware of it. Although it seems a bit embarrassing it has some useful purposes like safety issues. In urban areas for example mostly in shopping malls, hospitals, public transport and any public gatherings, people are under the surveillance of CCTV which provides them maximum security and protection from harassment, sexual abuse, bullying and so on. Furthermore, if any crime occurs such as robbery or theft, the criminals can easily be caught by the technology of phone tracking. Conversely, there are some sayings that monitoring people's deeds is not a good practice because it breaches their privacy. However, privacy and safety both are basic human rights. That's why when it comes to people's safety issues they should not be ignored. More precisely, with the help of technology of monitoring people, crimes occur. As people are unaware of the monitoring they sometimes get blackmailed by criminals. For example, when they are monitored unknowingly, with a copy of the video they get blackmailed. Moreover, in shopping malls or in the medical centre there are some CCTV which do that video nudity and then get blackmailed by criminals. To conclude, technology has both positivity and negativity and the fact is how effectively it can be utilized for the betterment of people. Though the ever-increasing effects of technology contributed to monitoring people, the purpose should be only ensuring the betterment of people.