In many areas of work, robots are being given more roles. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is undeniable that due to cutting-edge technologies, regular employees have been substituted by robots. Thus, this trend leads to significant changes in the labour market. Personally, I believe that this development has both advantages and disadvantages, depending on how the governments can cope with that. On the one hand, robots help to enhance enterprises by optimising production and increasing efficiency at the same time. Moreover, it goes without saying that factory work requires a lot of physical activity which, in turn, can cause health problems. In that case, blue-collar workers may leave the workplace to find more skilled jobs with better work conditions. As a result, the whole industry can experience incredible growth, where robots do a low-skilled job and employees do a high-skilled one. On the other hand, if blue-collar workers do not find another work place a big rise in unemployment will be seen. In this situation, a balance between supply and demand will be broken and this will lead to an increase in inequality. Therefore, low-skilled workers will be struggling to find a job, while the owners of enterprises will be swimming in wealth. Consequently, we may face a highly polarized world, where the overwhelming majority of the population lives in poverty. Summing up, I tend to believe that this trend can lead to both positive and negative outcomes. This depends on the government, if they give decent jobs to people who were substituted by machines, individuals will improve their financial situation, otherwise, it will bring devastation.