Write about the following topic: Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Technology has tremendously revolutionised our lives in many different ways. However, some people claim computers are considered one of the most important innovations of the last century. I completely agree with this statement because these computers brought employment opportunities to millions across the nations and life has become comfortable with the help of computers. Firstly, computers created jobs for billions of people. Indeed, computer manufacturing companies started slowly at the beginning of the last century. As a result, a greater number of people started exploring this technology and very soon computer science became a part of university education. Further, numerous multinational companies started in different parts of America and Asia. Therefore, many people opted to work in these companies. For instance, Infosys company presently has 15 million employees, which initially started with just 100 people. Secondly, these computers have made life comfortable in many aspects, especially in the field of communication and information technology. Communicating via email is easy for all personal and professional matters. Moreover, computers have immense storage capacity and hence information about everything can be saved on the computers. Instead of searching in books, these computers can provide information within few seconds. For example, we can communicate with multiple people instantaneously via Skype on computers. To conclude, although there are many inventions of the last century, the computer appears to be the best. A few benefits of the computer that are worth mentioning, is the job trend that they created and the convenience of communication are invaluable.