Some people think developing countries should invite foreign companies to open branches, offices and factories to promote their economies. Others say that they should keep the foreign companies out. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recent years have witnessed a debate over whether companies from abroad should be introduced into the domestic market in developing nations. From my perspective, international companies serve as a driver to boost economic development in less-developed regions. On the one hand, the benefits of inviting foreign corporations are significant and this initiative is actually a blessing to the local economy. Firstly, companies coming from other nations can help to upgrade the local infrastructure and transportation system, as they need basic facilities to support their businesses. Therefore, the government is able to save its limited revenue and turn to invest it in other aspects, such as healthcare services, to improve local residents’ living standards. Secondly, with more major corporations gaining a foothold in less developed regions, undoubtedly there will be more positions available for local citizens, which is beneficial to solve the unemployment issues. Besides, this can also contribute to maintaining social stability as well, for the reason that people engaged in decent jobs are unlikely to commit robberies out of poverty. On the other hand, it is understandable that some people hold the view that overseas corporations are supposed to be prohibited in developing countries. Chances are that if a number of foreign companies are established in other countries, it will inevitably trigger off several problems, such as cultural conflicts between local dwellers and foreign workers. Confronted with different or even opposite opinions on the same affairs, they might have no predisposition to compromise with each other, thereby leading to quarrels and fights. However, this is not unsurmountable and the government is capable of funding public advertisements concerning differences among various cultures to raise the public's awareness of coexisting with individuals from other nations peacefully. In conclusion, even though the introduction of overseas companies may bring some perils to the undeveloped world, I firmly believe the merits far outweigh the demerits as international companies can possibly promote the prosperity of the local economy in developing countries.