The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is obvious that English is the most popular language all over the world. There is a belief that the benefits of spreading English globally will outweigh its drawbacks as it has done. From my perspective, I mostly agree with this notion. On the one hand, it cannot be denied that some unpopular languages are in danger of extinction due to the expansion of English. This is because English is becoming more and more beneficial, hence many people choose to use it as their first language and tend to quit their mother tongues. As a result, there will be a lack of language diversity, without which the culture of human beings will not be enriched as it has been for centuries. Nevertheless, the risk mentioned above cannot overcome the advantages that English brings to the beings. Firstly, it is an excellent tool for communication between people from different countries. For example, in an international university where students come from many different areas, there should be a common and easy-to-learn language like English. Thanks to it, people can talk with each other and everyone can understand what teachers are trying to deliver. Secondly, English plays a crucial role in tourism and travel. More specifically, if people travel abroad, they should know how to communicate with the native. Since the most widely accepted language is English, people can use it in most nations. In a nutshell, I hold the belief that English will continue to maintain its position as a global language because of its significant contribution to the world. While protecting language diversity, people should also be encouraged to learn English.