To meet the growing need for food by an increasing population, a country should make use of genetically engineered foods. However, some people believe that such foods are not only unhealthy but affect nature too. Discuss both the viewpoints and give your own opinion.

Today, new technology and improvements are viewed not always with excitement. For instance, genetically engineered crops. Shortage of food and limitation of space had gathered scientists and farmers to solve this problem by enhancing properties and amount of fruits produced by plants. But some say that enhancements are harmful to humans and nature. In this essay I will provide points that consider the good and the bad when it comes to plant engineering. First, I believe that implementing new qualities to vegetation has health benefits. For example, in Africa people do not have a big variety of plants to grow which means that some could lack minerals and vitamins crucial to stay healthy and build a strong immune system. The non profit organizations saw that it is hard for Africans to get vitamin A with their food therefore decided to modify banana plant cells in order to produce fruits with vitamin A. This not only was cheaper than producing tablet vitamins, but also more nutritious as bananas are a great food source filled with other vitamins. In addition genetically modified organisms are cheaper to produce. The change in plants ' genes can help them fight against parasites. This way the farmers will need to use less pesticides to grow healthy plants and the fruits of it without damage. On the other hand, engineering could lead to destruction of a variety of vegetation. Because the plants can be enhanced to withstand bugs or harsh weather means that they can live everywhere and spread faster. Therefore, overgrowing the plants which grow naturally can lead to extinction. Moreover, this is bad news for the animals as there are some that only survive on one plant like koalas. They only eat eucalyptus leaves. In conclusion, genetically engineered food is a good solution to countries with high starvation rates which have a lack of food selection therefore not getting enough vitamins or minerals with their food. But it also has disadvantages as it can overpopulate other species of plants and drive them to extinction.