Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Biologists often express the importance of the diversity of plants and animals, calling that the government should put more resources into rebreeding endangered species. However, some environmentalists might think the authority should focus more on other ongoing crises. In the following essay, I would discuss the viewpoints from both sides and explain the reason why I sided with the latter one. On one hand, animal specialists might claim that losing some flora and fauna could affect the whole environment severely, especially when they are carnivores which position at the top of the food chain, such as eagles, or wolves. Owing to the disappearance of predators, the number of their prey can be increased to a surprising degree. Therefore, leading to an unbalanced state in the areas. For example, after Formosan clouded leopards which used to live in Taiwan's mountains went extinct around 20 years ago, the deer, in turn, dominate all over the mountain tops, leading to serious deforestation. On the other hand, there are some well-known issues that need to be dealt with as well. Take global warming as an example, the coastline of many countries is backing off due to the rising sea levels, making tens of thousands of local residents homeless. Similarly, the extreme weather which is caused indirectly by excessive greenhouse gas emissions that plagued London a few years ago also killed hundreds of victims. From a personal perspective, I believe the greenhouse effect is a relatively serious problem owing to its irreparable damage. In other words, according to the UN's statement and prediction on this issue so far, humans have passed the point of no return on stopping this catastrophe. By contrast, endangered species are more likely to be recovered as long as the situation is noticed at an early stage. There are several conservation programs that have been underway, like the protection of Formosan black bears. In conclusion, losing predators could lead to natural disasters like desertification, while some environmental issues like global warming can be a threat to human lives as well. Under limited resources, I think the latter should be mitigated with higher priority because of its irreversible situation.