The best way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Incessant traffic jams and other traffic -related problems have heightened public interest in the topic of how to curb traffic volume. Although some believe that reducing the need for daily commuting is the most effective way to do this, I believe that this measure would be unworkable and there are more acceptable methods. Firstly, reducing the need for residents to travel for work, study or shopping purposes is impractical. No matter how effectively modern technologies allow us to work, study, or carry out online transactions, most of us still prefer face-to-face interactions, perpetuating the need to travel. This can be seen in the way business people choose to meet up halfway at a café to discuss a deal, how students prefer discussing an idea or a lesson at their school campus, and how we enjoy going to shopping malls. With our society still putting a significant amount of importance on real-life day-to-day conversations and interactions, the proposed scheme would not work. Facilitating public transport appears to be a superior alternative solution. Since means of public transport that are not road-based, such as sky trains or subways, are largely underdeveloped in most cities, developing these can help people commute without causing congestion. For example, by investing significantly in building elevated and underground railways, Japan has managed to reduce traffic volume considerably, easing congestion on roads. Granted, using these means of transport could be expensive, but government subsidies would lower the prices of tickets, which will incentivize people to abandon their personal vehicles and subsequently reduce pressure on roads. In conclusion, it is futile trying to get people to stay at home more for the sake of traffic and investing in public transit systems would be a better remedy when it comes to alleviating traffic.